North Dakota Lien Deadline

This information outlines North Dakota mechanic’s lien and public bond laws current through June 1, 2019.

Preliminary Notice

  • Not required

Prelien Notice

  • The pre-lien notice must be served on the owner by certified mail at least 10 days before the lien claim is filed, and no later than 80 days after the last date Claimant furnished labor or material.

Deadline to file mechanic’s lien

  • Filed at the courthouse within 90 days after the last date

Deadline to Foreclosure

  • Within three years after the date Claimant recorded its lien